Macclesfield Cricket Club

Imperial War Museum Reference – not listed



It is not yet known where the Macclesfield Cricket Club Roll of Honour was located; the present whereabouts of the roll is not known.



The Macclesfield Cricket Club Roll of Honour is known only from a report in the Macclesfield Times and East Cheshire Observer dated 5 April 1917 in which a list of names was printed. It is assumed that the roll includes the names of those who served as well as names of casualties.

The Roll of Honour of the Club contains the following names:- F Allen, C Averiss, J Arblaster, N Brocklehurst, J C Close-Brooks, H Challener junr, H Coups, C Dale, F Davenport, J F Earles, P Eccleston, G Fountain, F Fawkner, Lord Hugh Grosvenor, F A Harrison, J A Harrison, W B Harrison, J Hooley, J Houghton, R Jackson, J C Johnson, H Kearsley, A M Kirk, C Kelly, B E Leeson, H Leigh, W Massey, C Moss, H Massey, C Manifold, H McKay, A R Oldfield, W Osbaldeston, J Rayson, H Scanlon, E T B Seel, H A Seel, G Sheldon, J Sheldon, P Sheldon, W Sheldon, A Simpson, F Simpson, J Swindells, C B Twemlow, J A Wardle, J W Warrilow, F White, Rev Westmore Wood, A Wainwright, A Whitaker and Yates.

The following week, 13 April 1917, the newspaper published the following correction:

In addition to the list published last week, the Roll of Honour of the Macclesfield Cricket Club also contains the names of Messrs G Heywood and C Twemlow…



Those from the cricket club who have been researched are named below: